Noa’s Freestyle Fridays-Why not 4?

It seems to me that average American families, especially in big cities like LA, NY and Chicago don’t have, for the most part, more than 1-2 kids. We are 3 siblings and both my parents come from families of 7. Now, I know that those were different times and neither my grandmas had a career per se, outside of the household, but it does make me look back on my childhood and remember how much fun I had growing up with 50 cousins and big Shabbat and holiday dinners . I LOVED IT! So when I mentioned to my in-law that we’d like to have more than 2 kids her response was “oh no!”

I tried to ‘defend’ our decision, not that wanting to have more children needs defending, but you get what I’m saying.

I do have a few mom friends that have 4 and 5 kids AND a career and they seem so much at ease about it.

 

 

Something about them not making a big deal out of it makes it exactly that: NOT A BIG DEAL. I know that private schools here are super expensive, but who’s to say that public schools, in the right areas, can’t be as good? And what about home schooling, maybe that’s even a better option? I don’t have all the answers, but I do have the will, the patience and plenty of love for our kids to want to at least entertain this wonderful idea of 4.

I’ll keep you posted!

Shabbat Shalom,

Noa

Leave a Reply

