More than Ziploc bags.

It doesn’t make sense…how much I love ziploc bags. They’re pretty darn great. I get excited every time we go to Costco and buy the gargantuan pack with a bunch of different sizes.
The other day we were about to leave the house, and were completely out. I don’t know how this happened. But it did. I walked around the kitchen with grapes in my hand not knowing where to put them. Yes, we have Tupperware, but it’s not the same. No offense to the more environmentally-friendly containers, but ziploc bags are way more versatile and amazing.

And as I walked aimlessly around the kitchen with the grapes in my hand, I suddenly realized something; I need to be passionate about other things too. Ziploc bags are still the best, but I need to sort some things out. I’m so consumed with my new role as mommy, I forget to spend time doing non-baby related things. And not just to take breaks, and relax here and there, but to progress personally. I used to love reading, and learning, and being a support to others. I haven’t really been able to do those things in a while. Or rather, I’ve chosen not to. And I’ve chosen not to, because I’d much rather sleep than read. And I prefer eating while Little naps than learning anything. I mean, come on.

So I’ve become obsessed with household items, and completely consumed with daily baby routine. This is where I would say, ‘don’t get me wrong, I love being a mommy.’ Blah blah blah. Obviously, I love being a mommy. 

Basically, I think as mothers/fathers we need to make more of a conscious effort to better ourselves emotionally, spiritually, intellectually, etc. Because it’s so easy to get wrapped up in baby life and have those sweet little faces be the focus of everything. A healthy separation is what we need. Have something for ourselves…a passion/hobby, something that can be cultivated and practiced on a continuous basis.

So I guess I’ll just have to force myself. Maybe learn another language while I eat when Little naps? This is a possibility. I can learn to like it…and then love it, like my ziploc bags.

Baby steps, and variety packs,
Roxy

  

 

Leave a Reply

